Australia Public Holidays 2020

Spread the love

Australia Public Holidays 2020

This page contains a calendar of all 2020 public holidays for Australia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your state’s calendar.

Date Day Holiday States
1 Jan Wed New Year’s Day National
8 Jan Wed Devonport Cup TAS
26 Jan Sun Australia Day National
27 Jan Mon Australia Day Holiday National
10 Feb Mon Royal Hobart Regatta TAS
26 Feb Wed Launceston Cup TAS
2 Mar Mon Labour Day WA
3 Mar Tue King Island Show TAS
9 Mar Mon Canberra Day ACT
9 Mar Mon March Public Holiday SA
9 Mar Mon Eight Hours Day TAS
9 Mar Mon Labour Day VIC
10 Apr Fri Good Friday National
11 Apr Sat Day following Good Friday National except TAS & WA
12 Apr Sun Easter Sunday ACT, NSW, QLD & VIC
13 Apr Mon Easter Monday National
14 Apr Tue Easter Tuesday * TAS
25 Apr Sat Anzac Day National
27 Apr Mon Anzac Day Holiday WA
4 May Mon May Day NT
4 May Mon Labour Day QLD
8 May Fri AGFEST TAS
1 Jun Mon Reconciliation Day ACT
1 Jun Mon Western Australia Day WA
8 Jun Mon Queen’s Birthday National except QLD & WA
26 Jun Fri Borroloola Show Day NT
3 Jul Fri Alice Springs Show Day NT
10 Jul Fri Tennant Creek Show Day NT
17 Jul Fri Katherine Show Day NT
24 Jul Fri Darwin Show Day NT
3 Aug Mon Picnic Day NT
12 Aug Wed Ekka Wednesday * QLD
28 Sep Mon Queen’s Birthday WA
2 Oct Fri Burnie Show TAS
5 Oct Mon Labour Day ACT, NSW & SA
5 Oct Mon Queen’s Birthday QLD
8 Oct Thu Royal Launceston Show TAS
16 Oct Fri Flinders Island Show TAS
22 Oct Thu Royal Hobart Show TAS
2 Nov Mon Recreation Day TAS
3 Nov Tue Melbourne Cup Day * VIC
27 Nov Fri Devonport Show TAS
24 Dec Thu Christmas Eve * SA
25 Dec Fri Christmas Day National
26 Dec Sat Boxing Day National except SA
26 Dec Sat Proclamation Day SA
28 Dec Mon Proclamation Day Holiday SA
28 Dec Mon Boxing Day Holiday National except SA
31 Dec Thu New Year’s Eve * SA
The dates in this table are from multiple sources. Please choose your state below to view original source.

Note:
— South Australia has a part-day public holiday for Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve from 7 pm to 12 midnight.
— Easter Tuesday is a restricted public holiday in Tasmania. Observed by some awards/agreements and the State Public Service. To check award ring Fair Work Infoline on 131394.
— Ekka Wednesday is observed in Brisbane area only.
— Melbourne Cup Day is observed in all of Victoria unless alternate local holiday has been arranged by non-metro council.

Choose your state or territory

Australian Capital Territory South Australia
New South Wales Tasmania
Northern Territory Victoria
Queensland Western Australia