Australia Public Holidays 2018

Spread the love

Australia Public Holidays 2018

This page contains a calendar of all 2018 public holidays for Australia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your state’s calendar.

Date Day Holiday States
1 Jan Mon New Year’s Day National
10 Jan Wed Devonport Cup TAS
26 Jan Fri Australia Day National
12 Feb Mon Royal Hobart Regatta TAS
28 Feb Wed Launceston Cup TAS
5 Mar Mon Labour Day WA
6 Mar Tue King Island Show TAS
12 Mar Mon Canberra Day ACT
12 Mar Mon March Public Holiday SA
12 Mar Mon Eight Hours Day TAS
12 Mar Mon Labour Day VIC
30 Mar Fri Good Friday National
31 Mar Sat Day following Good Friday National except TAS & WA
1 Apr Sun Easter Sunday ACT, NSW, QLD & VIC
2 Apr Mon Easter Monday National
3 Apr Tue Easter Tuesday * TAS
25 Apr Wed Anzac Day National
7 May Mon May Day NT
7 May Mon Labour Day QLD
28 May Mon Reconciliation Day ACT
4 Jun Mon Western Australia Day WA
11 Jun Mon Queen’s Birthday National except QLD & WA
29 Jun Fri Borroloola Show Day NT
6 Jul Fri Alice Springs Show Day NT
13 Jul Fri Tennant Creek Show Day NT
20 Jul Fri Katherine Show Day NT
27 Jul Fri Darwin Show Day NT
6 Aug Mon Picnic Day NT
15 Aug Wed Ekka Wednesday * QLD
24 Sep Mon Queen’s Birthday WA
28 Sep Fri AFL Grand Final Friday VIC
1 Oct Mon Labour Day ACT, NSW & SA
1 Oct Mon Queen’s Birthday QLD
5 Oct Fri Burnie Show TAS
11 Oct Thu Royal Launceston Show TAS
19 Oct Fri Flinders Island Show TAS
25 Oct Thu Royal Hobart Show TAS
5 Nov Mon Recreation Day TAS
6 Nov Tue Melbourne Cup Day * VIC
30 Nov Fri Devonport Show TAS
24 Dec Mon Christmas Eve * SA
25 Dec Tue Christmas Day National
26 Dec Wed Boxing Day National except SA
26 Dec Wed Proclamation Day SA
31 Dec Mon New Year’s Eve * SA
Visit for the original release.

— South Australia has a part-day public holiday for Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve from 7 pm to 12 midnight.
— Easter Tuesday is a restricted public holiday in Tasmania. Observed by some awards/agreements and the State Public Service. To check award ring Fair Work Infoline on 131394.
— Ekka Wednesday is observed in Brisbane area only.
— Melbourne Cup Day is observed in all of Victoria unless alternate local holiday has been arranged by non-metro council.

Choose your state or territory

Australian Capital Territory South Australia
New South Wales Tasmania
Northern Territory Victoria
Queensland Western Australia

Australia has more than the usual number of public holiday long-weekends in 2018, mostly resulting from New Year’s Day landing on a Monday and Australia Day landing on a Friday. Additionally, Christmas and Boxing Day fall on a Tuesday and Wednesday in 2018 – so a five-day weekend can easily be created by taking Christmas Eve off work!